The National Audubon Society has honored Louis Bacon, chairman and founder of The Moore Charitable Foundation, with The Audubon Medal in recognition of outstanding achievement in the field of conservation and environmental protection. Launched in 1947, the Medal is one of the highest honors in conservation. Only 51 people have received the honor in Audubon’s 107-year history. Recipients have included Walt Disney, Rachel Carson, Ted Turner, Edward O. Wilson, Jimmy Carter and the Rockefeller family.

“We are pleased to be able to award the Audubon Medal to Louis Bacon in recognition of his significant and diverse efforts to preserve and protect key natural ecosystems” said Holt Thrasher, Chairman of the Board of National Audubon.

Watch National Audubon Society’s tribute video and Louis Bacon’s acceptance speech below.